Calit2-Affiliated UCI Professors Garner Awards, Other Recognition

By Anna Lynn Spitzer

jafarkhani and hutchinson
Jafarkhani, Hutchinson

11.29.05 – Seven UCI professors affiliated with Calit2 have recently been recognized by professional organizations, funding agencies and the university itself for their ongoing achievements.

Hamid Jafarkhani, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science, was named a Fellow by the IEEE for his contributions to space-time coding. The election to fellow by the IEEE is considered one of the institute’s most prestigious honors.

Jafarkhani is also the author of Space-Time Coding, Theory and Practice, a new book that covers the fundamental principles of space-time coding for wireless communications over multiple-input, multiple-output (MIMO) channels. The book illustrates practical coding methods for achieving the performance improvements predicted by the theory.

Tara Hutchinson, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering, and electrical engineering and computer science, was elected a member of the board of directors for the Consortium of Universities for Research in Earthquake Engineering. The consortium is devoted to the advancement of earthquake engineering research, education and implementation. Hutchinson was also selected as an editor of Earthquake Spectra, the journal of the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute.

Alfred Kobsa, professor of informatics, has received the Alexander von Humboldt Research Award, honoring his lifetime academic achievements. The award is given by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, based in Germany, to senior foreign scientists and scholars. The foundation grants up to 100 Humboldt Research Awards annually to scientists and scholars from abroad with internationally recognized academic qualifications. As part of the award, Kobsa is invited to carry out a research project in Germany for up to one year; he will study privacy implications of radio frequency identification tags used in the retail industry, conducting his research at Humboldt University in Berlin.

Kobsa, De Flaavis
Shekl, Li, Regan
Kobsa, De Flaavis, Shkel, Li and Regan

Franco De Flaviis, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science, and G.P. Li, professor of chemical engineering and materials science, and director of the Integrated Nanosystems Research Facility, have received a best paper award from the 2005 International Telemetry Conference. The paper authored by De Flaviis and Li was titled “Reconfigurable Patch Antenna for Frequency Diversity with High Frequency Ratio (1.6:1).”

The U.S. Defense Department’s Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) has awarded Andrei Shkel, associate professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, $1.25 million for the development of the world’s first micro-machined gyroscope based on spin-polarized nuclei precession. The DARPA-funded Navigation Grade Integrated Micro Gyroscopes program supports the development of novel micro-or nano-engineered devices capable of sensing rotation rate with navigation-grade performance.

UCI’s Academic Senate honored Amelia C. Regan, associate professor of computer science, and civil and environmental engineering, with a 2005-06 Distinguished Faculty Award for her significant contributions to teaching, research and university service. Regan was one of eight UCI professors receiving the most prestigious campus honor faculty members can receive from their colleagues. She will present a lecture at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29, at the UCI University Club, in conjunction with her award.

Regan is also associate dean for undergraduate education for the Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences. Her primary interests are in the area of transportation logistics, freight and fleet management, and intermodal – systems that combine several different modes of carrier for a single shipment – transportation systems.